Farewell to retiring Councillors

Published on Thursday, 30 September 2021 at 3:19:43 PM

Tuesday, 28 September 2021 marked the final meeting of the current Council for the Town of Bassendean.

Three Councillors were acknowledged for their contributions over their term:

  • Cr Jai Wilson (4 year term) noted as an apology
  • Cr Sarah Quinton (4 year term)
  • Cr Chris Barty (2 year term)

During the meeting Deputy Mayor, Cr Hamilton, extended a thank you to each of the departing council members for their service.

By way of response Cr Quinton thanked Councillors for the work achieved on progressing the planning and funding of Sandy Beach Playground and the construction of other playgrounds in the District, in addition to services to the community from the youngest through to the oldest.

“I’m so proud of the enormous amount of work we have achieved. We have gained so much through our tree planting program, building playgrounds and a safe active street just to name a few,” said Cr Quinton.

Cr Barty spoke of his time from being a staff member at the Town of Bassendean, to his time spent as a Councillor over the last two years, acknowledging the learning he had acquired during his term and his positive outlook for the future,

“Whilst we have some important decisions about the Bassendean we want to be, I feel very positive about our future. I look forward to continuing to play my part and I wish all candidates in the upcoming election the very best of luck.”

Local Government elections will be held on 16 October with five new Town of Bassendean Councillors to be sworn in on 18 October 2021. Crs Renee McLennan and Hillary MacWilliam will continue their term for a further 2 years.

You can find all the information relating to the council meeting here.

Back to All News