

MINUTES

Special Council Meeting

Tuesday 24 October 2023, 6:00 pm

in the Council Chamber, Administration Building 48 Old Perth Road, Bassendean WA 6054



1 Declaration Of Opening; Acknowledgment of Country; Acknowledgment of Visitors; Disclaimer

The Chief Executive Officer declared the meeting open, welcomed all those in attendance.

2 Attendances and Apologies

Present

Councillors

Cr Kathryn Hamilton Cr Emily Wilding Cr Jennie Carter Cr Paul Poliwka Cr Tallan Ames Cr Jamayne Burke Cr Ken John

Officers

Mr Cameron Woods, Chief Executive Officer Mr Luke Gibson, Director Community Planning Mr Paul White, Director Corporate Services Mr Phil Adams, Exec Manager Infrastructure Ms Nicole Davey, Exec Manager Sustainability & Environment Mr Tristan Loney, Manager IT Services Mrs Natasha Dowson, EA to the CEO/Minute Secretary

<u>Guests</u>

Mr Andrew Wilson, Returning Officer, WA Electoral Commission Ms Renee McLennan, JP

Public

Approximately 12 members of the public were in attendance.

Apologies

Nil.

3 Declarations of Interest

Nil



4 Reports

4.1 Swearing in of new Councillors

Ms Renee McLennan was in attendance to swear in the new Councillors. The following Councillors made the Declaration of Office:

- Cr Tallan Ames
- Cr Jamayne Burke
- Cr Ken John

4.2	Election of Mayor and Deputy Mayor
Attachments	Nil

Election of the Mayor

The CEO conducted the election of the Mayor.

Cr Ames nominated Cr Hamilton for the position of Mayor. Cr Hamilton accepted the nomination. No other nominations were received and the Mayor was therefore elected unopposed.

Cr Hamilton made the declaration of Office before Ms Renee McLennan JP.

Election of Deputy Mayor

The Mayor conducted the election of the Deputy Mayor. Nominations were received as follows;

- Cr Tallan Ames
- Cr Emily Wilding
- Cr Paul Poliwka

Mr Andrew Wilson conducted a secret ballot for the position of Deputy Mayor in accordance with the Local Government Act 1995 - Schedule 2.3.

Three first preference votes were received for Cr Wilding, three first preference votes were received for Cr Poliwka and one first preference vote for Cr Ames. One second preference vote was received for Cr Poliwka.

The Mayor declared Cr Poliwka elected as Deputy Mayor.

Cr Poliwka made the declaration of Office before Ms Renee McLennan JP.



4.3 Drawing of Lots for Seating of Councillors

Council's Meeting Procedures Local Law 2020, Part 7, provides for the method of allocating seating positions to elected members.

- (1) At the first meeting held after each election day, the CEO is to draw lots for the seating arrangements of the Councillors in the Chambers.
- (2) Each member is to occupy his or her allotted position at each Council meeting. **STARTING AS AT THE NOVEMBER AGENDA BREIFING MEETING.**

The Chief Executive Officer will conduct a random draw for seating positions in accordance with the procedures and as follows:

CEO/MAYOR TABLE *L to R from Mayor's Chair* Seat 2 Seat 1 Seat 4 Seat 3

Seat 6 Seat 5

The Chief Executive Officer and the Returning Officer conducted a random draw for seating positions in accordance with Council's Meeting Procedures Local Law 2020. The outcome was as follows:

Seat number 1Cr WildingSeat number 2Cr CarterSeat number 3Cr BurkeSeat number 4Cr AmesSeat number 5Cr PoliwkaSeat number 6Cr John

New seating to take effect in November 2023.

4.4 Public Question Time

Nil



4.5	Appointment of delegates and representatives to external organisations and committees of council	
Attachments	 Elected- Member- Prospectus-2023-(ID-604251) [4.5.1 - 6 pages] Behaviour- Complaints- Policy [4.5.2 - 12 pages] Arts Culture and Events Committee [4.5.3 - 3 pages] Audit and Governance Committee [4.5.4 - 7 pages] BLEMC ToR [4.5.5 - 3 pages] 	

<u>PURPOSE</u>

Councillors are requested to consider nominating as delegates and representatives on external committees and organisations for a two year period, expiring on the next ordinary Local Government election day, unless otherwise indicated.

Council Resolution – Item 4.5 SCM-241023/1

MOVED Cr Emily Wilding, Seconded Cr Tallan Ames

That Council:

1. endorses the following Councillors as Members and Deputy Members to the following external Committees for the 2023/25 term:

Committee	Member(s)	Deputy/Deputies
Eastern Metropolitan Regional Council (EMRC)	Cr Ames	Cr Hamilton
	Cr Poliwka	
Perth Airports Municipalities Group (PAMG)	Cr Hamilton	Cr Poliwka
WALGA — East Metropolitan Zone	Cr Hamilton	Cr John
	Cr Wilding	Cr Carter
WALGA — Annual General Meeting	Cr Hamilton Cr Wilding	Cr John
Bassendean Local Emergency Management Committee	Cr Carter Cr Poliwka	Cr John



2. Endorses the following Councillors to sit on the Metro Inner North Joint Development Assessment Panel, for the term ending 26 January 2024.

Committee	Member(s)	Deputy/Deputies
	Cr Wilding	Cr Hamilton
Metro Inner North Joint Development Assessment Panel (to 26 January 2024)	Cr Ames	Cr Carter

3. Endorses the following Councillors to sit on the Metro Central Inner North Development Assessment Panel, for the term between 26 January 2024 and 26 January 2026.

Committee	Member(s)	Deputy/Deputies
	Cr Carter	Cr Hamilton
Metro Inner North Joint Development Assessment Panel (26 January 2024 – 26 January 2026)	Cr Poliwka	Cr Ames

4. Appoints the following Councillors to be Members and Deputy Members to the following internal Committees for the 2023/25 term:

Committee	Member(s)	Deputy
Audit and Governance Committee	Cr Hamilton	Cr Poliwka
	Cr Burke	
	Cr John	
	Cr Wilding	
	Cr Hamilton	Cr Ames
Arts Culture and Events Committee	Cr Carter	
	Cr Burke	

5. Notes that all Councillors are members of the Complaints Committee for the 2023/25 term.

Voting Requirement: Absolute majority

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY 7/0



4.6 Change to date of December OCM		
Property Address	N/A	
Landowner/Applicant	N/A	
File Reference	ТВА	
Directorate	Office of the CEO	
Previous Reports	N/A	
Authority/Discretion	Executive	
	The substantial direction setting and oversight role of the Council.	
Attachments	Nil	

Purpose

The purpose of this report is for Council to consider changing the date of the December Ordinary Council Meeting from Tuesday 12 December 2023 to Tuesday 19 December 2023.

Council Resolution/Officer Recommendation – Item 4.6 SCM-241023/2

MOVED Cr Paul Poliwka, Seconded Cr Tallan Ames

That Council approve changing the dates for the December Ordinary Council Meeting to Tuesday 19 December 2023 beginning at 6pm and the Agenda Briefing Session to Tuesday 12 December 2023 beginning at 6pm.

Voting requirements: Simple Majority

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY 7/0

5 Closure

The next Briefing Session will be held on Tuesday 21 November 2023, commencing at 6pm. The next Ordinary Council Meeting will be held on Tuesday 28 November 2023, commencing at 6pm.

There being no further business, the Presiding Member declared the meeting closed, the time being 6.55pm.