The Council of the Town of Bassendean (hereinafter called the "Council") hereby establishes a committee under the powers given in Section 5.8 of the Local Government Act 1995, such committee to be known as the Sustainability Committee, (hereinafter called the "Committee").

The Council appoints to the Committee those persons whose names appear in Section 4.0 below.  Membership of the Committee shall, unless otherwise specified, be for a term ceasing at the date of the Local Government election in the year the Town’s local government elections are held.

The Committee shall act for and on behalf of Council in accordance with provisions of the Local Government Act 1995, local laws and policy of the Town of Bassendean and this Instrument.

2.0       NAME

The name of the Committee shall be the Sustainability Committee.

  • Leadership in Environmental Sustainability

2.1.1   Strengthen environmental sustainability practices and climate change mitigation

2.1.2   Reduce waste through sustainable waste management practices

2.1.3   Initiate and drive innovative Renewable Energy practices

  • Projects for the Term of the Committee include
  • Develop and implement Environmental Community Education program
  • Develop Local Planning Policies, promote and implement best practice renewable energy guidelines including sustainability initiatives
  • Develop Carbon Reduction plan and as funding permits progressively implemented carbon reduction projects
  • Investigate a 3 bin system for general, recyclable and green/putrescible waste collection
  • Input into local planning policies & guidelines for sustainable design of buildings
  • Investigate bulk buy solar scheme for property owners in the Town
  • Investigate transition of the Town’s Fleet to Electric Vehicles
  • Investigate implementing alternative transport options / incentives for Staff
  • Investigate installation of electric charging stations in the Town
  • Lobby Western Power to transition the Town Street Lighting to LED
  • Develop & Implement a “Sustainable Town Incentive Scheme”
  • Investigate offering environmental sustainability grants for suitable community projects
  • Develop a waste management strategy to reduce the Town’s waste production and increasing waste diversion levels through waste management measures higher up the waste hierarchy than disposal

4.0       MEMBERSHIP

Membership of the Committee shall consist of 8 members, comprising the following:

  1. Three Councillors from the Town of Bassendean; and
  1. Five Community Members who live in the Town of Bassendean.

Note: The Mayor of the Bassendean Town Council shall be an ex-officio member of the committee under section 5.10 (4) unless the Mayor indicates his/her intention not to be such a member.  The CEO or a representative of the CEO shall be an ex-officio member of the committee if he or she indicates to Council this intention under section 5.10 (5) to be such a member.


The Committee shall appoint a Presiding Member and Deputy Presiding Member to conduct its business.  The Presiding Member shall ensure that minutes of the proceedings are kept and that business is conducted in accordance with the Town of Bassendean Standing Orders (Local Law No 1).

The Presiding Member must cast a second vote if the votes of the members present are equally divided.

The Local Government Act 1995 places responsibility for speaking on behalf of Council with the Mayor, or the CEO if the Mayor agrees.

The Presiding Member and members of Council committees are to refrain from speaking publicly on behalf of the committee or Council, or to issue any form of written material purporting to speak on behalf of the committee or Council without the prior approval of the Mayor.

6.0       MEETINGS

The Committee shall meet at least quarterly.

6.1       Notice of meetings shall be given to members at least 3 days prior to each meeting.

6.2       If any member is absent from 3 consecutive meetings without leave of the Committee, they shall forfeit their position on such Committee.  The Council shall be informed, who will appoint a replacement for the balance of the Committee's term of appointment.

6.3       The Presiding member shall ensure that detailed minutes of all meetings are kept and shall, not later than 5 days after each meeting, provide Council with a copy of such minutes.

6.4       All members of the Committee shall have one vote.  If the votes of the members present are equally divided, the person presiding is required to cast a second vote in accordance with the Local Government Act.

7.0       QUORUM

Quorum for a meeting shall be at least 50% of the number of offices, whether vacant or not.  A decision of the Committee does not have effect unless it has been made by a simple majority.


The Committee has no delegated powers under the Local Government Act and is to advise and make recommendations to Council only.


Termination of the Committee shall be:

9.1       In accordance with the Local Government Act 1995; and

9.2       At the direction of Council.


This document may be altered at any time by the Council on the recommendation of the Committee, or after giving 14 days notice to the Committee.


Committee decisions shall not be binding on Council if such decisions are in conflict with the delegated powers of the Council.