TOWN OF BASSENDEAN

MINUTES

SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING

HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, 48 OLD PERTH ROAD, BASSENDEAN

ON TUESDAY 22 OCTOBER 2019 AT 7.00PM

1.0 DECLARATION OF OPENING/ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS

Acknowledgement of Traditional Owners

The Chief Executive Officer declared the meeting open, welcomed all those in attendance and acknowledged the past and present traditional owners and custodians of the land on which the meeting was held.

2.0 ATTENDANCES, APOLOGIES & APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Present

Councillors

Cr Renee McLennan, Her Worship the Mayor

Cr Kathryn Hamilton, Deputy Mayor

Cr John Gangell

Cr Sarah Quinton

Cr Jai Wilson

Cr Hilary MacWilliam

Cr Chris Barty

Officers

Peta Mabbs, Chief Executive Officer Luke Gibson, Director Community Planning Phil Adams, Executive Manager Infrastructure Deanie Carbon, Corporate Communications Coordinator Amy Holmes, Minute Secretary

Guests

Mr Andrew Wilson, Returning Officer Mr James Laffer, JP

Public

Approximately 25 members of the public were in attendance.

Press

Kristie Lim, Eastern Reporter

Apologies

Paul White, Director Corporate Services

3.0 SWEARING-IN OF NEW COUNCILLORS

Mr James Laffer JP, was in attendance to swear in the new Councillors. The following four Councillors made the Declaration of Office:

- Chris Barty
- John Gangell
- Hilary MacWilliam
- Renee McLennan

4.0 ELECTION OF MAYOR & DEPUTY MAYOR

Mr Andrew Wilson, Returning Officer for the Town of Bassendean, was in attendance to assist in the election of the Mayor & Deputy Mayor.

4.1 Election of the Mayor

The CEO called for nominations in writing for the position of Mayor. Nominations were received for Cr McLennan. The CEO declared Cr McLennan elected unopposed to the position of Mayor. Cr McLennan made the Declaration of Office before Mr James Laffer, JP.

Her Worship the Mayor, Cr McLennan, assumed the Chair for the remainder of the meeting.

4.2 Election of the Deputy Mayor

The Mayor called for nominations in writing for the position of Deputy Mayor. Nominations were received for Cr Gangell and Cr Hamilton.

In accordance with the Local Government Act a secret ballot was conducted. Three votes were received for Cr Gangell and four votes were received for Cr Hamilton. The Mayor declared Cr Hamilton elected to the position of Deputy Mayor. Cr Hamilton made the Declaration of Office before Mr James Laffer, JP.

Leave of Absence

Cr McLennan advised that she would be taking a Leave of Absence for 1-15 November 2019.

5.0 PUBLIC QUESTION TIME

5.1 Public Question Time

Nil

5.2 Address by Members of the Public

Nil

6.0 DRAWING OF LOTS FOR SEATING OF COUNCILLORS

The Chief Executive Officer and the Returning Officer conducted a random draw for seating positions in accordance with Council's Standing Orders. The outcome was as follows:

Seat number 1 Cr Wilson
Seat number 2 Cr MacWilliam
Seat number 3 Cr Quinton
Seat number 4 Cr Gangell
Seat number 5 Cr Barty
Seat number 6 Cr Hamilton

7.0 APPOINTMENT OF DELEGATES AND REPRESENTATIVES TO EXTERNAL ORGANISATIONS AND COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL

<u>APPLICATION</u>

Councillors were requested to consider nominating as delegates and representatives on external committees and organisations for a two year period, expiring on the next Local Government Ordinary Election day, unless otherwise indicated.

<u>COUNCIL RESOLUTION/OFFICER RECOMMENDATION – ITEM 7.0</u>

SCM – 1/10/19 MOVED Cr Gangell, Seconded Cr Quinton, that Council:

1. Appoints the following Councillors to be Members and Deputy Members to the following external Committees for the 2019/21 term:

Committee	Member(s)	Deputy/Deputies
WALGA — East Metropolitan Zone	Cr Gangell Cr Quinton	Cr McLennan
	Cr Barty	
— Annual General Meeting	Cr McLennan Cr Gangell	Cr Quinton
Eastern Metropolitan Regional Council (EMRC)	Cr Hamilton Cr Wilson	Cr MacWilliam
Metropolitan Regional Road Group – Eastern Region	Cr Wilson	Cr McLennan
Perth Airports Municipalities Group (PAMG)	Cr Barty	Cr Gangell

2. Endorses the following to sit on the Metro Central Joint Development Assessment Panel, for the term ending 26 January 2020.

Committee	Member(s)	Deputy/Deputies	
Metro Central Joint Development Assessment Panel	Cr McLennan Cr Hamilton	Cr Wilson Cr MacWilliam	

3. Appoints the following Councillors to be Members and Deputy Members to the following internal Committees for the 2019/21 term:

Committee				Member(s)	Deputy/Deputies
Audit and Governance Committee				Cr McLennan Cr Hamilton Cr MacWilliam	Cr Gangell
Bassendean Committee	Local	Emergency	Management	Cr McLennan Cr MacWilliam	Cr Hamilton

CARRIED BY AN ABSOLUTE MAJORITY 7/0

8.0 CLOSURE

The Mayor thanked everyone for their attendance and invited all those in attendance to partake in refreshments in the Committee Room.

There being no further business, the Mayor closed the meeting, the time being 7.35pm.